Enable These Instagram Privacy Settings Now

Image for article titled Enable These Instagram Privacy Settings Right Now

Photo: ALEX_UGALEK (Shutterstock)

Instagram has gone through so many changes that it’s hard to remember what’s truly private on your account and what isn’t. As a Meta product, however, Instagram is not known to respect your data, so the more “privacy-friendlyā€¯ would be completely delete your account. Iif you are not willing to go that far, however, youThe next step is to make your Instagram account as private as possible be.

Clear your Instagram browsing history

As a general rule, you should not use browsers embedded in other applications. In-app browsers used by Instagram and TikTok are terrible for your privacy. If you often click on various links in people’s Instagram bios, you should consider clearing your Instagram browsing history.

To get started, click any link in the Instagram app to launch the in-app browser. Now click on the three dots in the upper right corner and select Browser settings. Press the Clear next to “Browsing data”, and Instagram will clear your browsing history.

Delete apps from Instagram

Once you’re done, consider deleting the Instagram app and try using the service on a mobile browser like Chrome or Safari. It’s much more privacy-friendly than using the app (although you’ll miss some features). It also protects you from other privacy issues, like giving the app access to your entire photo library, contacts, and other data.

You should also stop Instagram from tracking your internet activity. The easiest way to do this is on your iPhone. Go to Settings > Privacy > Tracking and disable Allow apps to request tracking. Apple now forces all apps ask to follow you, but if you turn off the ability to ask, tracking is denied by default.

Restrict access to your data

You can also reevaluate how much data access Instagram really needs. To simply track your friends, family, and favorite accounts, the app works great if you don’t give it access to your microphone, camera, location, photos, contacts, and the rest of your bio data.

How restricted Instagram permissions are depends on you and how you use the app. To get started, go to Settings > Privacy on your smartphone and check what permissions Instagram really needs. Unless you’re a content creator whose livelihood depends on Instagram, you might find that you can actually revoke access to a whole bunch of stuff.

Consider at least blocking Instagram from accessing your contacts and photos. You don’t need to share contact information with Instagram, and on iPhone you can always go to the Photos app and use the share icon to post photos and videos to Instagram. If that’s too inconvenient, consider choosing to share only selected photos with Instagram, rather than granting permission to all photos. This way you can choose exactly which photos and videos Instagram has access to, which will usually only be the ones you upload. This feature is available on iPhone, as well as Android 13.

If you want to continue sharing your location with Instagram, you can always revoke their access to your precise location to make it harder to track you. On your iPhone, go to Settings > Privacy > Location Services > Instagramand disable Precise location.

Clear recent searches

It’s also a good idea to clear the list of accounts you’ve recently searched for on Instagram. It won’t really hide that information from Instagram or Facebook, but it will keep your search history safe from prying eyes around you. To do this, open Instagram and click on the magnifying glass icon in the bottom bar. Press the See everything button under the search bar, then touch Erase everything in the upper right corner.

Check who can message you

It’s a good idea to prevent strangers from tagging or messaging you on Instagram. This prevents accounts from spamming or harassing you. Jap the profile icon in the lower right corner, tthen tap the hamburger menu in the upper right corner and select Settings. Go at Privacy > Messages. Select Others on Instagram and set this to Do not receive requests to prevent strangers from pinging you. On the previous page, you can also select People on Facebookand Your followers on Instagramand choose whether you want to receive message requests from them.

Be aware that these settings do not impact your friends. As long as you and the other person are following each other, you’ll be able to message each other without issue.

Hide your activity status

You can hide your online status on Instagram quite easily. To do this, go to Instagram’s settings, then Privacy > Activity Status. Switch off View activity status for better privacy.

Stop people from using your photos in Remixes

If you have a public account on Instagram, all of your content can be used by anyone for their Remixes. This feature allows users to use your photos, videos and reels for their own videos. To turn this off, go to Instagram’s settings, then Privacy > Reels and Remixes. Disable all options on this page to prevent others from using your content. Note that this option will not appear if you have a private account on Instagram.

Enable two-factor authentication

Finally, you need to enable two-factor authentication to secure your Instagram account. That way, if someone finds out your account password, they still won’t be able to break in without the unique 2FA code that only you have access to. gwhere to Instagram Settings > Security > Two-Factor Authentication. Select Authenticator app and use applications such as 1Password, Google Authenticator or Authy to receive one-time use login codes.

#Enable #Instagram #Privacy #Settings

Leave a Comment